Winstead’s Juris Doctor Scholarship Reception in Austin


Winstead attorneys and members of UT Law School gathered for a reception in the Austin office on April 21, to honor Kirsten Johansson, a law student at UT Law and one of the 2015 Winstead Juris Doctor Scholarship winners.  The reception provided a chance for Winstead attorneys, family members of the winner, and representatives from UT Law School to honor the winner.  The Winstead Juris Doctor Scholarship is a program designed to enhance the recruitment of diverse candidates at Texas law schools.  Winstead awards three scholarships annually to first-year, underrepresented, diverse students at SMU, UH and UT.  In addition to a cash award, each winner is offered a position in Winstead's 2016 Summer Associate Program.

A unique feature of the scholarship award is a $1,500 grant presented to each winner's student interest group of choice.  For the Austin reception, the Chicano Hispanic Law Students Association at UT received a $1,500 check on behalf of Johansson from Winstead at the reception.

A big thank you goes to the efforts of Winstead’s Selection Committee who reviewed the applications and interviewed the candidates.  Members of the Committee include: Yasmin Atasi, Al Axe, Eli Columbus, Marcus Brown, Todd Chen, John Arnold, Alex Valdes, Cheryl Camin Murray, Carrie Nie and Stewart Whitehead.  Special thanks to director of recruiting Dominique Anderson and her support in these efforts.

(L to R: Pete Winstead, Kirsten Johansson, Stewart Whitehead)

(L to R: Pete Winstead, Kirsten Johansson, Stewart Whitehead)